Lanka Holiday Guide
Guiding you to a memorable holiday in Sri Lanka
Lanka Holiday Guide - for the best travel and tour deals in Sri Lanka
   Home            2015
 

January
01
New Year's Day
Start date:
1 January 2015
January
03
Milad un Nabi (Birth of the Prophet Muhammad)
Start date:
4 January 2015  (Sunday)

Celebrated 5 days later for Shi'a.

January
05
Duruthu Full Moon Poya Day
Start date:
5 January 2015 (Sunday)
January
15
Tamil Thai Pongal Day
Start date:
15 January 2015 (Thursday)
February
03
Navam Full Moon Poya Day
Start date:
3 February 2015 (Tuesday)
February
04
National Day
Start date:
4 February 2015 (Wednesday)
February
17
Mahashivratri
Start date:
17 February 2015 (Tuesday)
March
05
Medin Full Moon Poya Day
Start date:
5 March 2015 (Thursday)
April
03
Good Friday
Start date:
3 April 2015 (Friday)
April
04
Bak Full Moon Poya Day
Start date:
4 April 2015 (Saturday)
April
13
Sinhala and Tamil New Year
Start date:
13 April 2015 (Monday)
May
01
Labour Day
Start date:
1 May 2015 (Friday)
June
01
Vesak (Buddha's Birthday)
Start date:
3 May 2015 (Sunday)
Day after vesak is also a holiday
June
02
Poson Full Moon Poya Day
Start date:
2 June 2015 (Tuesday)
July
18
Eid al-Fitr (End of Ramadan)
Start date:
18 July 2015 (Saturday)
July
31
Esala Full Moon Poya Day
Start date:
31 July 2015 (Friday)
August
29
Nikini Full Moon Poya Day
Start date:
29 August 2015 (Saturday)
September
23
Eid al-Adha (Feast of Sacrifice)
Start date:
24 September 2015 (Thursday)
September
28
Binara Full Moon Poya Day
Start date:
27 September 2015 (Sunday)
October
27
Vap Full Moon Poya Day
Start date:
27 October 2015 (Tuesday)
November
11
Diwali (Festival of Lights)
Start date:
10 November 2015 (Tuesday)
November
25
Il Full Moon Poya Day
Start date:
25 November 2015 (Wednesday)
December
25
Unduvap Full Moon Poya Day
Start date:
24 December 2015 (Thursday)
December
25
Christmas Day
Start date:
25 December 2015 (Friday)
 
Public holiday note
 

(a) Muslim festivals/ holidays are timed according to local sightings of various phases of the moon and the dates given below are approximations.  During the lunar month of Ramadan that precedes Eid al-Fitr, Muslims fast during the day and feast at night and normal business patterns may be interrupted; however, since Sri Lanka is not a predominantly Muslim country restrictions (which travellers may experience elsewhere) are unlikely to cause problems.

(b) Hindu and Buddhist festivals are declared according to local astronomical observations and it is not possible to forecast the date of their occurrence exactly.

 
 
 

Hotels in Popular Cities 

Sri Lanka (Ceylon) 

Colombo
Sri Lanka
Kandy
- Sri Lanka
Kandy
Galle
- Sri Lanka
Galle
Hikkaduwa
- Sri Lanka
Mirissa
- Sri Lanka
Nuwara
Eliya - Sri Lanka
Yala
National Park - Sri Lanka
Bentota
- Sri Lanka